Are You Eligible for Medicaid?

Medicaid is a health program and a single largest health coverage in United States. It covers the health problems of all demographics including children, pregnant women, parents, seniors, and individuals with disabilities. Together with CHIP (Children’s Health Insurance Program), Medicaid covers almost all low-income American families under age 65.

To qualify for the Medicaid, there are some general requirements:

  1. Residency: the individual must be the resident of the state where the Medicaid is being provided.
  2. Immigration Status: the individual should be a US citizen or an immigrant who has lived in U.S legally for five or more years.
  3. Financial State: The MAGI-based methodology which is used to determine financial eligibility for Medicaid, considers taxable income and tax filing relationships. It does not allow for income disregards that vary by state or by eligibility group and does not allow for an asset or resource test.
  4. Categorical Eligibility: this facility is limited to low-income individuals falling into specific categories like children, pregnant women, adults in families with dependent children, and the elderly.

To apply for Medicaid, you would need some important information, documents and proofs of your age, citizenship, income, assets, disability, residence, insurance etc. most people are rejected the coverage of this service due to the submission of incomplete documents. An essential tip before filling out the application is to keep these documents infront of you before submitting: birth certificate or driver’s license (to prove your age), proof of citizenship, documentation of all assets and income, copies of your mortgage, lease, rent payment receipts, utility bills, or other documents that prove where you live, medical records documenting your disability and, information about any other health insurance coverage you may have.

Although the exact rules for Medicaid varies from state to state, but there are some key takeaways that you should remember before applying for it. For example,

  • Many Medicaid requirements have been changed in 2020, therefore, the applicants should be aware of the changes made.
  •  There are some specific federal and state income level thresholds which the applicants must meet to qualify for the service.
  • Experts recommend that potential applicants speak to both an elder care lawyer and a financial advisor about “spending down” their assets in order to qualify for Medicaid.

There are two groups that come under the Medicaid criteria: the mandatory and optional eligibility groups.

The mandatory group include children, individuals between age 19 and 64, parents or caretakers of dependent children, pregnant women that lie under 133% federal poverty level, people who are blind and disabled, people of 65 and over age, children under foster care and individuals receiving Supplementary Security Income.

The optional group includes children of age 19 and 20 in non-expansion states, people coming under breast or cervical cancer program, ones who are receiving homes, community services and hospice care. Medical waivers are also provided to the autistic, HIV/AIDS patients or victims of other chronic diseases.

As in 2020, qualifying for Medicaid and home care services is not an easy job. So get the help of financial advisors or someone who has experienced this program previously.

Sponsored Content

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s